Veggie Tale Burgers…


So, my challenge is not going as smoothly as I had hoped.  Sean had reservations with eating this burger and 1 and 2 were disgusted. I thought with such a crafty name like Veggie Tale Burgers they would be so into it. 3 was.  Does that really surprise me? He’s my vegan baby, seriously! The burgers are from Oh She Glows. I made them pretty much the way she suggests, however, I added more salt and less chili powder. I made them with parsnip fries, but because I didn’t take the massive stick piece out of the parsnips, they were a failed attempt. Next time I’ll make homemade yam fries with a chipotle mayo. Anyhow, I am excited to have another burger tomorrow for lunch!

Veggie Tale Burgers…

(inspired by Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup onion, diced
1 large garlic clove, minced
Flax eggs: 2.5 tbsp ground flax + 1/2 cup warm water, mixed in bowl
1 cup oats, processed into flour
1.5 cups bread crumbs (I used about 2 pieces of silver hills 20 grain bread, processed)
1 cup grated carrots
1 cup cooked black beans, rinsed and roughly pureed or mashed
Heaping 1/4 cup finely chopped parsley
1/3 cup almonds, toasted and chopped
1/2 cup sunflower seeds, toasted
1 tbsp. Grapeseed Oil
1 tbsp Tamari
1.5 tsp chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. oregano
Sea salt and black pepper, to taste 

How To Play:

1.  In a large skillet, sauté onions and garlic in 1/2 tbsp oil. Mix your flax egg together in a small bowl and set aside for at least 10 mins while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

2. Place all ingredients (except spices and salt) into a large mixing bowl and stir very well. Now, add seasonings and salt to taste.

3. With slightly wet hands, shape dough into patties. Pack dough tightly as this will help it stick together.

4. Cooking methods: You can fry the burgers in a bit of oil on a skillet over medium heat for about 5 minutes on each side. If baking in the oven, bake for 25-30 mins (15-17 minutes on each side) at 350F, until golden and crisp. For the BBQ, pre-bake the burgers for about 15 minutes in oven before placing on a pre-heated grill until golden and crisp on each side. I fried mine in the skillet with Grapeseed oil.

For the toppings, I used fresh red onion, lettuce, sprouts, melted cheese and guacamole.  Sean isn’t a huge guacamole fan, so I used mayonnaise and mustard on his and he liked it, he really liked it!

Leave a Reply

