Homemade BBQ Sauce


What do you do when you are going to have a BBQ and realize you have no sauce in the fridge or cupboards? Why, you make your own, of course. I have made this before, so it is kind of like cheating to some degrees, I had all the ingredients. It is a bit of a process, but it beats the preservatives and fake things that go in most BBQ sauces.

Homemade BBQ Sauce:

(From Rebar)

Ingredients:
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 1/2 tsp whole cloves
4 all spice berries
4 cardamom pods
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp molasses
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp chipotle puree (I don’t like smokey flavor, so I didn’t add this)
1 196ml can of tomato paste
1 bottle of dark beer

How To Play:
Combine vinegar and whole spices in a small pot and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half (15 minutes). Strain out the solids and cool.  Meanwhile, heat oil in a skillet and saute the onion until golden, adding garlic halfway through.  Sprinkle sugar into the pan and when it melts, add all of the remaining ingredients, including the vinegar.  Bring mixture to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes, or until the sauce is thick and glossy.  Season to taste.  Cool and puree the sauce until smooth. Refrigerate for up to 3 weeks.


Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Homemade BBQ Sauce

    • Thank you! I will be posting again shortly. I have lost track of time, but no more excuses! There will be more posts and you will be able to read again with your mug of coffee.

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d really appreciate
    it.

    • Hey sorry red blouse to not respond sooner! I think the most important point to make would be to be yourself and to not try to impress a certain type of crowd. I aspire to be real, candid, and honest. I think when we share from the heart, it helps those in similar situations. People are so tired and weary of trying to be perfect, no one is obviously, so to write from experience rather than fantasy is key. I wish you all the best and will be checking your blog. May you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

