No woman no Chai


Due to a lack of sleep because of night interruptions with a teething baby who also can not breathe through his stuffy nose, I feel like I am letting things go. I didn’t bother with make-up today, after I realized my hair hadn’t been washed for more than 2 days and both older kids should have their noses wiped and faces washed, but heh, I don’t care, I have no energy. Though I vacuumed yesterday morning at 6:45am like a mad woman, and had the whole house cleaned before 8am, I feel as though I am slipping. It also doesn’t help that I bought a different Chai tea that doesn’t taste anything like Chai tea, so I don’t even have my normal tea fix to reward myself with. Is this the real issue? Is this perhaps the reason why I feel blah? 3 won’t stop crying and 2 can’t ever be full. What the heck? All I want is nice cup of chai, a sleeping baby, and bag-less eyes. The countdown is on. In two more hours I will be running. I don’t need to escape my life, I embrace it, I just need to get out from the trying and the crying. I need a 25 minute recharge. Tonight’s dinner? Well, being that it is Wednesday, we are going to have chicken fajitas with black beans. We have our home group this evening, in which I have prepared the cookies, already. They actually taste super good when frozen. I love frozen treats. I just grab one out from the freezer and mmm, so yum. They are the vegan ones from “One too many” entry. There is nothing like frozen chocolate chips.

Not So Basic Fajitas with Black Beans on the Side

Ingredients:
2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Tortillas
Taco Seasoning
1/2 cup red onion, sliced
1 red, orange, or yellow pepper, sliced lengthwise
grapeseed oil
sea salt and pepper
1-2 cups shredded Monterey jack, cheddar or both
guacamole
salsa
sour cream
1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil or coconut oil
1 can of black beans
2 tbsp cilantro

How To Play:
Cook the chicken until no longer pink in a large skillet. Add taco seasoning. While the chicken is cooking, begin heating a medium skillet with about 2 tablespoons of grapeseed oil. Once the oil is heated, add onions and red pepper and about a teaspoon of sea salt. Let the peppers and onions cook until translucent and tender, add fresh ground pepper. Heat a tablespoon of coconut oil in a saucepan, add the black beans and heat thoroughly. Add cilantro, salt to taste and about 1/8 cup of cheese. Stir until well combined. Prepare tortilla by adding a fair amount of chicken, peppers, onions, guacamole, sour cream, cheeses and salsa. Wrap and serve with black beans on the side.


Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

