Calvary Love.

Amy_Carmichael_with_children2

Amy Carmichael once wrote, ‘If I take offence easily; if I am content to continue in cold unfriendliness, though friendship be possible, then I know nothing of Calvary love.’ Offence, an annoyance or resentment brought about by a perceived insult to or disregard for oneself or one’s standards or principles is exactly what it is. It is an annoyance, a wrong doing, causing resentment, indignation, wrath, displeasure, animosity, feelings of bad ill and disgruntlement. However, in the midst of the swollen fires that burn throughout the realms of this little world of troubles and tribulations, there is a deep wound festering in the body of a bruised heartbreak. It was not my intention to be the last straw to break the camel’s back. But I was. A mere flimsy piece of dried out straw, with no thought, no resolve, no compassion or mercy to taint, like  the smudged handprints of a child with jelly on their clumsy hands, all over the eye glasses of an unpretentious oversight. My hands have been washed, and my eyes have been cleansed, however my heart beats rather un-rhythmically. A cautioning, a voice of one crying out in the wilderness to prepare a way…I can’t remain stuck in something I have been set free from, if not by man, but by Him, the one who beckons me into the throne room of grace. His mercies endure, His love remains in the darkest fires that burn throughout the driest season, and His presence rests quietly, unshaken, amid the fiercest storm. I am the product of Calvary love, rescued and forgiven, undignified and vulnerable for such a time as this.

2 thoughts on “Calvary Love.

Leave a Reply

