Hot Turkey Sandwich.

unnamed (5)

Sundays after church is anything but relaxing. It is a house full of five starving people and while everyone is expressing how hungry they are, I get in the zone of sandwiches, cheesy noodles and chopping vegetables…It is basically whatever I can find to keep the chaos controlled. The thing is, though, while I am eloquently preparing in a fast forward sort of way, I am questioning in the back of my mind just what am I going to eat? I don’t eat beef or ham, so Sean’s simple salami and cheese sandwich is not in the least appealing to me. I do not fancy peanut butter, so 2’s sandwich, is not an option…ever, while 1 & 3 enjoy the cheesy noodles and chopped veggies, my mind is elsewhere. Calgary elsewhere at that. A friend once took me to a great little restaurant called Farm. I had an insanely good chicken sandwich, oh my. This recipe is one that was completely inspired by the one I had at Farm.

Ingredients:
Cooked Turkey
Provolone Cheese, or preference
Garlic Aioli
Cole Slaw
Coconut oil
2 pieces of sour dough

How To Play:
Heat turkey in a skillet. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add cheese, remove from heat, and place lid on skillet to melt the cheese. Toast 2 slices of sour dough bread. Spread toast with coconut oil, garlic aioli. Add a scoop of coleslaw to one slice and scoop the heated, melted cheese turkey to the other slice. Serve with a pickle.

Creamy Coleslaw Recipe:

Ingredients:
1/4 cup veganaise
1 tbsp Rice Vinegar
2 tsp coconut sugar
Salt and pepper to taste
1- 1/2 cups Red Cabbage, shredded
1 carrot, shredded

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. May need to add more salt if you fancy salt.

For a Garlic Aioli, I roast a garlic bulb, then blend it with a 1/4 cup or more of veganaise, a tsp or so of lemon juice, and salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

