Easy as pie, apple pie that is.

photo 1 (6)

So, because I had extra pastry from the turkey pot pie, I thought,’Hmm, I’ve got a few green apples kicking around in my fruit bowl, I am going to waste not want not.’ When I told the kids I was baking an apple pie, the were unfazed. They could care less. See, they just didn’t know that I used to be the apple pie baking queen when I was 19 years old. I was whipping up pies like a crazy person. After the pie came out of the oven, 1 peeked her head in the kitchen and asked, “What’s that smell?” I just nodded like I knew what was about to go down. How did the three kiddies like it? Let’s just say, it lasted only for tea time. It is quite a simple, old, and tasty recipe. Be prepared for no leftovers with this one.

Apple Pie

Inspired by: Grandma Kettle’s Pies and Cookies

Ingredients:
6-7 apples
3/4 cups sugar
2 tablespoons arrowroot flour
2 tsps cinnamon (could use more if you like)
2 tablespoons butter

How To Play:
Peel, core and cut the apples into small slices.
Combine the apples, sugar and flour
Put into the uncooked pie crust
Place a few small pieces of butter on the apples.
Cover with a second crust
Crimp the edges of the pie
Bake at mid-level of a preheated oven
Cook at 450 for 20 minutes, then at 425 for 25 minutes, or until the pie is brown.

Use Pie Pastry Recipe.

 

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

