30 Day Challenge: Day 3

161956150_vintage-popcorn-movie-night-party-invite-postcards

Popcorn.

Seriously, why does food have to be so good? I am finding probably the biggest challenge of this 30 day challenge is not eating after 7pm. I remember my grandmother always saying to eat after this time was a mistake. Everything my grandma has ever said, I kind of have taken to heart, even if it doesn’t make sense half the time, for it’s a sense within itself, I guess. I am not a huge night time snacker to begin with, but I just find time such a beast in the way of wanting to get all the things I want to get done in the 10 hours I have. Honestly, can it really be done?! When 3 was born, it was like the clock lost 2 hours and from that day forward, I always feel like I am running about 2 hours behind schedule. It is a chasing, answering and sharing life with little kids, planning and making meals often not appreciated, and all this with glimmer of hope that there will be at least an hour sometime in the evening to just SIT. There are times when my dinner is instead a nighttime snack, my favorite being homemade popcorn. It takes me to my happy place. Popcorn, seriously? But popcorn and I go way back. Not to date myself, but I remember in high school after one of our school plays, the group and I went to go see Austin Powers in the movie theater. I remember the awkward silence after I told my friend, the one I was in the play with, that I didn’t share and I wouldn’t share my popcorn with her. Oh…high school, how I don’t miss you. Unfortunately not much has changed. I will make the children popcorn, but when they are all nestled away in their beddies, I, without hesitation, reach for my vintage yellow Pyrex bowl and make a fresh batch of popcorn just for me. Aside from all of this, I am staying focused and steadfast. Run, really I am going to.

Image credit:www.popscreen.com

One thought on “30 Day Challenge: Day 3

  1. Ah! The aroma of beloved popcorn is treasured by my senses….my cat’s, too!
    An intense craving, whether it be food, alcohol, chocolate, can last 90 seconds. It’s how we think in those ninety seconds that will determine our willpower and the outcome. When faced with that all encompassed longing for something, anything food or drink related, don’t rationalize. Stop whatever you are doing in that moment. Be still. Just ‘feel’ the emotions that rise from the pit of your belly and the thoughts you process in the reaches of your mind for the full 90 or so seconds. When the 90 seconds have passed, and you are sitting or standing there without having succumbed, congratulate yourself with a smile and a happy sigh. It’s truly remarkable and gives a sense of peaceful accomplishment. I am sending you positive and encouraging vibes. You can do this!

Leave a Reply

