One Teff Cookie…

photo 2Sheryl Crow sang, “No one said it would be easy, but no one said it’d be this hard.” This line has been going through my head the last few days. Often times throughout the day I have a movie, or at least segments of a movie going through my mind with a soundtrack to go along side it. My segment of a movie today is- I am driving in a daze as I leave the Elementary School, knowing my daughter is screaming and kicking trying to escape the reality, that yes; school is in this world and yes, will always be.
Mean people? Maybe, why? Well, there are just mean people everywhere and yes, I have had my share of meanies too. I have even been a meanie. Still? I hope not, I don’t mean to be if I come across as mean…as I down another peanut butter and chocolate chip teff cookie. Perhaps the only one I am mean to is myself.
I have an ever increasing appetite to write. I haven’t written in years. I used to write a new song every week, but in the last few years, I have just haven’t had an ounce of inspiration. This new episode, era, or fragment of my season in this life has turned a page. I want to write. I am going to write. Last night while I waited for food to pick up, I had no paper in the car to write, so I used a brown paper bag. It worked. It felt good to release the buildup of subconscious, grammatical dysentery. It’s a new chapter in my life. The chapter that carries with it words.
To eat, write, and be merry. Here we go with cookie recipe to take along with us for the ride.

Peanut Butter Chocolate chip Teff Cookies

Inspired by Bob’s Red Mill

Ingredients:
1 1/2 Cups Teff Flour
1/2 Tsp Sea Salt
1/2 Cup Maple Syrup
1/2 Cup Grapeseed oil or coconut oil
1 Tsp Vanilla
1 Cup Natural Peanut Butter
1 Cup or more…Chocolate Chips

How To Play:
Preheat oven to 350. Set aside an ungreased cookie sheet. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients, set aside. In a food processor, or just a bowl and a spoon…blend syrup, oil, vanilla, and peanut butter. Add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients, mix well. Shape dough into walnut size balls and flatten gently with the tines of a fork. Bake for about 13 minutes.
Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

