Not so fast Breakfast

5923754707_7511d283d2_z

Remember this? Do you remember this guy? I remember. I also remember searching our Kmart with my mom and grandma crying how badly I wanted a Wayne Gretzky Ken Doll. Did I find one? Yes I did, however, the box had been opened and his skates were missing. Did I care? Not one bit, because my Wayne Gretzky doll was not going to be ice skating.
I came across this image of Pro Stars. Man oh man. I used to eat my bowel of Pro Stars faithfully every morning in my awkward 10 year old body. I would eat and stare at the box. Wayne Gretzky. I don’t ever recall the Pro Stars my mom bought being sugar free. I can’t believe Aspartame was even in the 1980’s…eeks. Ever since we found out 2 has wheat, gluten, and dairy allergies, my breakfast table is not sporting any Pro Stars cereal or much of any of that which I would typically have eaten at 4 years old. I think at his age I was eating Sugar Crisp and Captain Crunch…I know, shocking, but let’s just say once I turned 11 my whole world of eating what I liked flipped upside down too when I was told I had mushrooms growing in my stomach. New to Germany, new to school, horrific acne, and stomach disorders, let’s just say having to go vegan was a shock not only to my body, but to my resort of comfort eating.
I am aware that there are many others finding out their children are having allergies to the foods we consume, and it can be overwhelming. I find breakfast overwhelming. Before December of last year, I had eaten the same traditional breakfast every day for the last 7 years- Nature’s Path Flax Plus and homemade granola. In December, Sean and I did the Dr. Oz 3 day detox, and his breakfast shake has been my go to since.
2 went from eating 2 pieces of Silver Hills bread with Almond butter and a bowl of Cheerios to Silver Hills gluten free Chia seed bread with coconut oil, cinnamon and coconut sugar and a side bowl of gluten free Mesa Sunrise cereal with dried blueberries in Almond milk. It is working. What also is working, are these Pumpkin Muffins. They are from Post Punk Kitchen with a couple of minor adjustments.

muffin 7

The Best Pumpkin Muffins

by IsaChandra
Makes 1 dozen muffins
Variation: Fold in a cup of either chopped fresh cranberries or chopped walnuts, or a mixture of the two.
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour- I used 1 cup Quinoa and ¼ cup teff flour
1 1/4 cups sugar- I used coconut sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground or freshly grated nutmeg- I didn’t use
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger- I didn’t use
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice- I didn’t use
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves– I didn’t use
1 cup pureed pumpkin (Fresh or from a can; do not use pumpkin pie mix)
1/2 cup soy milk-I used almond milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil-I used coconut oil
2 tablespoons molasses

How To Play:
Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly grease a twelve-muffin tin.
Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, soy milk, oil, and molasses. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix.
Fill the muffin cups two-thirds full. Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, or millet, and a touch of sugar. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

muffins 4
muffins 3

Enjoy.

One thought on “Not so fast Breakfast

Leave a Reply

