A snicklesnack?

This crispy treat is, as 1 has been telling me, the greatest snickle-snack to have at school. Snickle-snack? Well, it is the little bit of food one eats in their lunch, it is kind of a snack, but not, because it is a snickle-snack, the snack before the snack?  It is my daughter’s favorite part of her lunch. Does anyone else remember kids in their classes having food allergies? I don’t. I remember wanting everyone else’s lunches, because they looked exotically processed, but allergies? Maybe of bees,  but not of kiwis or nuts. Many schools forbid nuts to enter the doors of their schools, understandably so. This is what makes these treats ideal.  I love making these nifty little crispy treats for the kids, plus they love helping me.  I tell them we add double chocolate chips and they think it’s the coolest, perhaps even most rebellious thing I do. I understand the nut allergy thing, but it can be a pain trying to find substitutes.  I far more love sunflower seed butter than peanut butter, anyways, and my kids do too, so I hope this helps someone who is in need of a new idea for a nut-free snickle-snack.

Crispy Treats with Chocolate Chips

Inspired by The Kind Diet

Ingredients:
5 cups Special K rice cereal
1 cup brown rice syrup
fine sea salt
1/2 cup sunflower seed butter
1 cup of chocolate chips or carob chips

How To Play:
Pour the cereal into a large bowl. Heat the syrup with a pinch or two of salt in a saucepan over low heat. When the rice syrup liquefies, add the sunflower seed butter and stir until well combined. Pour over the rice cereal. Mix well with a wooden spoon.
Once thoroughly mixed and cooled to room temperature, stir in the chocolate chips. If the mixture isn’t cooled, the chips will melt, which I guess isn’t tragic, but your call.
Turn the mixture out into an 8×8 or 9×13 baking dish. Wet your spoon lightly and press the mixture evenly into the pan. Let cool for 1 hour before cutting into squares.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

