Radicchio Pizza with Truffle Oil

Have you ever had or used Truffle oil?  I hadn’t, until I made it my great quest to find it and then impulsively buy it. I have been wanting to make this pizza for some time and when I finally did, I wasn’t sure what I thought, until I made it again, with less truffle oil and more mozzarella. MMMM! I often tell my sister that I can eat the same thing over and over again, I know she doesn’t like to do that, and many others are the same. I love this for dinner and then for lunch the next day. It is super easy, quick, and convenient for the busy. I know the season I ‘m in is quite full, but so many of us mom’s or non-mom’s are all in the same boat.  We have deadlines, appointments, full agendas and the same 12 hour days as the next.  When 3 was born, it was not uncommon for me to say, “I just need more time, there is not enough time to do the things I need to do!” This meal has become my time saver.  I hope you like.

Radicchio Pizza with Truffle Oil

Inspired by The Kind Diet

Ingredients:
1 large head of Radicchio
Olive Oil
Fine Sea Salt and fresh ground Pepper
White Truffle oil, to taste (I use 1/8 tsp)
shredded mozzarella cheese
1 fresh whole grain pizza crust

How To Play:
Cut the radicchio in half, then slice each half crosswise into thin ribbons (as thin as possible). Dress with olive oil, salt, pepper, and truffle oil. Preheat the oven to 415 F. Toast the pizza crust in the oven for 7 minutes or until it is heated through and slightly golden, but not crunchy. Scatter the dressed radicchio over the pizza crust, sprinkle with cheese and return to the oven for another 3-5 minutes, until the radicchio is warm and just starting to wilt, and the cheese is melted. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

