The Return of the Caesar Salad…


Caesar salad and I go way back. It was my favorite salad when I was young, older and oldest. I remember in high school, my sister and I would go to The Keg once a week.  It was a tradition.  I would always order their Caesar salad. My mom makes a really good Caesar.  In University days, it became a ritual for my girlfriends and I to meet once a month, typically the 24th, to have our monthly fondue and wine party. I would bring my guitar to play them my newest songs and my homemade Caesar salad.  Forward to a few years later, homemade spicy chicken Caesar salads has become one of Sean’s favorite meals.  It was a weekly thing, until I fell pregnant with 3. Pregnancy does weird things like that. Even after his birth, Caesar salad was definitely not on my “what to eat lists”, until last night…Alicia Silverstone, in her Kind Diet book, says, “this is the best Caesar salad ever, on the planet. Period.” My first thought was, “Well, you haven’t tried my mom’s…” But, I don’t think she ever would, because my mom is not a vegan.  I thought I would put this wonder salad to the test…the results…it is pretty-very-excellent. I made a couple of changes, because Sean is not a Dijon mustard fan, so didn’t put in as much that is called for, plus, added Parmesan cheese.  I made it for Sean and the kids, thinking I wouldn’t have any, but I did. Has the Caesar Salad returned to my life? This one just may have.

Caesar Salad

(Inspired by The Kind Diet)
Ingredients:

Croutons
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp sea salt
3-4 slices of whole wheat sourdough bread, or a baguette, sliced into cubes (1 1/2 cups)
Olive oil

Dressing
2 tbsp roasted almonds
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
2 tbsp Soy Sauce
1 tbsp Tahini
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp olive oil (or grapeseed)

romaine lettuce,torn into bite-size pieces
grated Parmesan cheese

How To Play:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Stir together the rosemary, garlic, and salt in a small bowl. Place the bread cubes in a large bowl and drizzle with the oil. Toss well to distribute the oil. Sprinkle the herb mixture over the bread cubes and toss again. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet, and bake for 10-15 minutes or until the croutons are dry and lightly toasted. Cool completely.
Meanwhile, combine the toasted almonds, garlic, mustard, soy sauce, tahini, lemon juice, oil, and 1/4 cup of water in a food processor; process until smooth and well blended. (I stirred in about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese, afterwards).
To serve, toss the lettuce and croutons together in a serving bowl. Add the dressing, and toss to coat. Sprinkle more Parmesan cheese over the salad and serve right away.

Spicy Chicken Caesar Salad

This is for the Sean’s:

Ingredients:
Caesar Salad Recipe
Chicken boneless, skinless, chicken breast, or thighs
Louisiana Hot Sauce
Grapeseed oil

How To Play:
Cook chicken thoroughly in grapeseed oil. Once it is completely cooked, douse it with hot sauce until it is very well coated. Fry the chicken for 2 more minutes, on a high heat, until the hot sauce has burned off and is no longer runny, but well cooked into the chicken. Place onto the Caesar Salad and serve immediately with freshly grated Parmesan Cheese.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “The Return of the Caesar Salad…

  1. Hello
    Thanks for your lovely comment on my little blog. I just thought I would let you know that my blog has moved and is now bighungrygnomes.co.uk. Unfortunately, if you want to remain subscribed to my blog, you will have re-subscribe to this new address. I realise this is a little bit of a nuisance but I would really appreciate your continuing support and interest in my blog
    Thanks
    Fiona

  2. Mmmmm the Keg’s caesar is my favorite, especially with lots of lemon juice squeezed on top. I will have to try this one. I tried the Rebar caesar (spicy version) the other week and I didn’t care for it much. Have you ever tried their recipe?

    • Do you mean the southwest caesar? I haven’t tried that one, but the classic rebar one I have, which I thought was pretty good. I was really surprised with this Kind Diet one, because of toasted almonds and tahini, but it totally works! You should give it a try and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

