Lost art found?


Many who know me, understand that I am extremely passionate for antiques, art, records, old books, and old school ways of life.  I am so not into technology, this blog was an answer to not my prayer, but Sean’s.  He thought it would be the coolest thing in the world if I drank coffee, owned a cell phone and blogged.  Well, one out of three is not bad.  He is passionately passionate about coffee and the technological era we currently reside in.  I could do without, kind of like plastic bags, microwaves, and white bread.  I do, however, see the immense benefit of it, like anything, it has it’s uses and can be important when used in small doses.  For a couple of years now, I have been on the fence with sewing.  Sewing to me is kind of like communication.  It has become a lost art.  I have been so afraid, really.  Afraid of pricking my finger, afraid of not doing it right, afraid that it would be just too hard and I would look incompetent.  Thankfully, mother-in-law Carol came to my rescue and helped me get over my fear.  My first sewing…I made patches then sewed the patches on my Toms where my toe was beginning to stick out.  So fun.  I thought it really was difficult at first, but the reward of completing and confronting this fear hands on has made this skill all the more liberating.
Thought of the night:
“When I allow it to be
there’s no control over me
I have my fears
but they do not have me.”

2 thoughts on “Lost art found?

  1. It thrills me to Read about you picking up a sewing needle and learning it can be more rewarding than scary. Keep it up and you’ll have plenty of project to proudly show like this one!

Leave a Reply

