One meal deal…


Are you a one meal deal type person like me? What does that mean? It means, you can be happily content with the same meal for lunch, dinner, and perhaps again the same thing the next day? This dish is one of those dishes for me. I make it, then eat it, for lunch and dinner for the next couple of days and I just cannot get tired of it. It is so good and so good for me. I am a person of particulars. I am particular about bathroom stalls, cereal bowls, dinner plates, and tea mugs. Every morning I have to eat my cereal out of a large coffee mug. I eat my dinner in a square bowl, and drink my Chai tea in a mighty grand size Starbucks mug. When I was pregnant with 3, I would eat President’s Choice chocolate crackle ice-cream faithfully every night in the same little white tea cup.
For some reason I felt it was not so bad to go for seconds or thirds with such a tiny cup…well, 54 pounds later, hello?! Ice cream + Me = DANGER.
Well, 3 is now one and I have only had ice cream once since the day of his birth. After his birth I went on a Panini kick and raspberries, too. This July, the panini cravings have returned, I did cave once to it and the raspberries, oh man, I just can’t get enough. However, back to what I was saying about this salad, I eat it in a cup that I used to eat the ice cream in. This recipe is from Oh She Glows, it is scrumptious and refreshing and makes every cell in my body rejoice with happiness, because they love healthy salads that taste like colors and music!

Back On Track Salad

Inspired by:  Oh She Glows

Salad Ingredients:
1 cup Bulgar wheat
2 cups/500 ml cooked chickpeas
1 English cucumber, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1 large tomato, diced
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 cup fresh parsley, diced with large stems removed
4 green onions, diced
Sea salt + pepper, to taste

Dressing Ingredients:
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, to taste
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp spicy mustard
1 tbsp Tamari
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

How To Play:
Boil 1 1/2 cup of water with 1/4 tsp sea salt in a medium saucepan until it boils. Once it boils, pour into a heat proof bowl with the Bulgar wheat and place a plate on top of and let it sit for 30 minutes. In a large bowl, mix together the diced vegetables (cucumber, red pepper, tomato, minced garlic, parsley, green onions). Add in chickpeas and stir.
In a small bowl whisk together the dressing ingredients (olive oil, balsamic vinegar, mustard, Tamari, fresh lemon juice). Set aside.
When the Bulgar wheat is ready, fluff with a fork and make sure all the water has been soaked up then stir into the salad. Add the dressing just before serving and stir well. Now season with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Garnish with additional parsley if desired.

Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “One meal deal…

  1. I love this salad! Tried it the other day with cous cous because I couldnt find bulgar wheat and it was delish. Even the boyfriend loved it on his sammiches. Thanks!

    • You are welcome, Danielle! I am so glad you enjoyed it. I made it this weekend to share at a picnic gathering. It is just one of those salads that is diverse and adjustable. Good to know cous cous worked as well, I love cous cous.

Leave a Reply

