Meal Plan for May 21-27

The weekend is approaching and for some that means, “Whoo-hoo, party!!” For others it means, “Meal Planning Time…” As the weekend draws near, I revisit my calendar, sip my tea, close my eyes, and sigh. What are we going to eat next week? So, meal planning, here we go.
Monday- Spaghetti and meatballs (I froze the leftover meatballs from last week)
Tuesday- Chicken Teriyaki Stir fry with Bok Choy, Broccoli, and Brown Rice Medley
Wednesday- Beef Burritos with Red Quinoa and Black Bean Salad
Thursday- Homemade Pizza (with whatever toppings you prefer)
Friday- Breakfast (which the kids are so excited from last week’s first attempt having breakfast for dinner)- Pancakes, Farmer’s Sausage and Hashbrowns
Saturday- BBQ Chicken-rain or shine- with Hearty Potato Kale Salad
Sunday- Roast Chicken, mashed potatoes, and roasted vegetables.

I tend to incorporate a lot of the foods from the nights before into other meals, because I hear my Papa in the back of my head saying, “Waste not, want not…” Even though to this day, it still makes no sense to me at all.  Is he the reason I can’t waste food? Or is it because it upsets me to have to throw it out?  I have always been a burden bearer, but for arugula, or any type of meat, isn’t that a little extreme? I think of all the steps it took for each nutritious bean, apple, yam, lettuce and pepper  to find residence in my home.  Each were nurtured from seed and tended to by strangers and brought in random means into my fridge. I will freeze leftovers if I have to, because I can’t stand the thought of wasting such a thing. Extreme? Maybe. We recycle and reuse in the world, I try to do so in the kitchen.

One thought on “Meal Plan for May 21-27

Leave a Reply

