The Big, Big Kid…

Tonight when I was about to have a bath to “unwind” with my unbelievable awesome bath salts, 1 knocked on the door to use the bathroom.  As I waited for her to finish, she looked at the lit candle, stared at the bath salts thrown around in the bath and asked what I was doing.  I told her I was going to have a bath.  She looked at the bath again and saw her dolls and 2’s cars on the bath’s edge and asked if I was going to play with their toys.  I told her, “No, I was too big for toys, but I used to have toys when I was younger.”  She then told me I am a big big kid with kids, because I have a mom.  I liked this.  I haven’t thought of myself as a big big kid, ever, only when I was big in other ways, but yeah, being a big, big kid is a bit foreign to me.  I used to be way more easy going, but life happened.  Exams happened.  Deadlines, pressures, and bills happened.  Making dinners, budgeting and having to buy toilet paper and expensive gas happened.  I grew up.  I became wife, a mom, a role model.  Responsibilities happened.  However, I want my daughter to see me as a big big kid, because to me, that means things aren’t impossible, life isn’t difficult or challenging, and any thing is possible.  Now, I am not into Peter Pan, but I am into dreaming big.  I want my kids to dream big and to have big dreams.  I want them to believe for the impossible and to see the impossible become a reality, because of the belief they have.  I pray I become more and more of a big, big kid and that my kids grow up to be big kids, too, never losing their creative imagination and having faith to believe in the unseen world that embraces them and defines them.

Last week when Sean’s sister was here I made this for dinner with a fancy loaf.  To me there is nothing greater than eating a tasty Chili with a fancy loaf on a blustery day.  Like mentioned before, the West Coast can be a rainy coast, and that particular day was alright by me.  I hope you have time to make this chili one day.  It is from Post Punk Kitchen and it is delish!

Red Lentil Chili

(By Post Punk Kitchen)

Olive oil (1 teaspoon to 2 tablespoons, however much you feel like using)
1 large yellow onion, diced medium
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced medium
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 ½ lbs sweet potatoes cut into ¾ inch chunks
1 cup red lentils
1 teaspoon salt
4 cups vegetable broth
2 15 oz cans kidney beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons Thai red curry paste
1 15 oz can lowfat coconut milk
28 oz can diced tomatoes
½ cup fresh cilantro, plus extra for garnish
Limes for garnish (optional)

How To Play:

Preheat a 4-quart pot over medium heat. Saute onions and pepper in oil with a pinch of salt, for 5 to 7 minutes. Add garlic and saute a minute more.

Add chili powder, sweet potatoes, lentils, salt and vegetable broth. Cover and bring to a boil. Let it boil for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent burning. When lentils are cooked and sweet potatoes are tender, add the remaining ingredients and heat through.
Taste for salt and seasoning, top with cilantro and lime and serve!

* Note: This tastes great the way it is, two things I am going to do the next time is add 2 pounds of sweet potatoes and use regular coconut milk, as spin instructor Lauri says, you need to eat fat to burn fat!

Enjoy!

One thought on “The Big, Big Kid…

Leave a Reply

