Chocolate Coconut Bites

After church today, I had a craving for these little guys.  They are so good and taste even better when placed in the freezer.  I love frozen treats and these freeze greatly.  I used to call them my brain food when I would be studying for exams, now they are my brain food when I am chasing after kids.  I found them in a cool little recipe book a beautiful friend of mine blessed me with called, “Slice- Health Inspired Food,” by Barb Davies and Jennifer Rallison. This book is brilliant and has really great creative meals that are not difficult to make and are HEALTHY!

Chocolate Coconut Bites

Ingredients:
3/4 cup milled flax seed
1/4 cup each of finely chopped hazelnuts, walnuts, and almonds
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup vanilla vega protein powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
zest of 1 organic lemon
1/2 cup almond butter
1/3 cup tahini
1/3 cup unpasteurized honey
2 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

How To Play:
In a bowl, combine flaxseeds, nuts, cocoa powder, whey protein, salt and zest. Add almond butter, tahini, honey, coconut oil and vanilla. With a hand mixer, combine until smooth (I use a wooden spoon). Refrigerate for 10-15 minutes then shape into 1 inch balls. Place coconut in a small dish. Roll balls in coconut to coat. Keep refrigerated until ready to serve, or place them in the freezer!- So good!!

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

