Apple Crumble

Ever since I was little, I loved it when my mom would make an apple crumble.  I was probably around 7 and remember thinking that it was the ultimate dessert.  I, like many, loved the topping better than the actual apples.  It is funny how now my kids are asking for apple crumble.  I think when 2 was born, I made it almost every week and would eat it with either coconut ice milk or regular ice milk.  Both are tasty, I just wish coconut ice milk wasn’t as pricey as it is. As I make this crumble, I think of the fond memories of summer nights, sitting on my front steps talking with the other neighbors in the complex watering their gardens.  It is definitely a cozy comfort dessert that can be seasonally comforting for all times of the year.  If I lived closer, I would bring this crumble to my sister who is going through a rough time.  Her cat passed away last night.  She needs some comfort.

Apple Crumble

(Inspired by Rebar)
Ingredients:
4 apples (I use Jonagold)
2 handfuls frozen blueberries
2 handfuls frozen blackberries
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 Tbsp arrowroot flour
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
Topping:
3/4 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 cup flour (I use oat flour)
1/4 Tsp Sea salt
1/2 cup nuts or seeds of personal choice (I use whatever I have, walnuts, hazelnuts, and pecans)

How To Play:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel and slice apples and place in a bowl. Stir in the remaining filling ingredients. Pile the fruit mixture into an 11×7.5 oval dish. Prepare crumbly topping by mixing together all the ingredients with your fingertips to get a nice chunky texture. Cover the fruit with the topping and bake for 40 minutes, or until the topping is browned and the fruit is bubbly and hot.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Apple Crumble

  1. Hugs to JoJo 😦 I love this blog Jamie. I love hearing from you every few days – even just reading a post reinforces to me how cool you are and why I like you. If you were closer, I’d eat the spinach salad with you. Also…I JUST started meal planning two weeks ago and I love it…Steve is in heaven too 🙂 Ummm…wouldn’t mind the mustard chicken recipe. And, you were a LANDSCAPER!??!?!?

    • You have to wait for the mustard chicken recipe, it is only Tuesday! Miss you friend. Way to go with meal planning, it does make life a little less crazy. Hope you and Steve and the girls are good. Lots of love to you all.

Leave a Reply

