Family Favorite

Last Saturday my sister came over for dinner.  Early that morning 1 and I went to Trader Joe’s and then to the butcher shop to buy the best farmer’s sausage in the world, because for dinner, I was going to make the family favorite, perogies and farmer’s sausage with a cabbage salad. I ended up eating a simple spinach salad, because my weight loss thing is annoying.  I haven’t weighed myself for awhile, because I ended up gaining a pound, and it has given me anxiety ever since to even think about stepping onto the scales.  I should have just eaten the perogies, they smelled so good!

Perogies and Farmer’s Sausage with Cabbage Salad

Large Coil of Farmer’s Sausage

Favourite Brand of Perogies

Ingredients:
1/2 onion, sliced
sea salt and pepper
1/2 savoy cabbage, shredded
2 tsp white vinegar
1/2 tsp salt and pepper
1/2 tsp white sugar
1/8 cup olive oil
1 tbsp of sour cream (optional)

How To Play:

Cut farmer’s sausage into thin slices, place into a skillet. Heat thoroughly on a medium temperature. Once it is heated, remove from skillet. Put the sausage into a covered dish and put in the oven on a low temperature to keep warm. Add onion to the sausage fat in the used skillet. (I know, this is so unhealthy, but this is my Polish Grandma’s influence). Heat the onions until they are nice and translucent. In a large saucepan, bring water to a boil and add the bag of perogies with a sprinkling of salt. I do everything in guess-timations, but following the cooking instructions on the perogies package would work, too. Once the perogies are floating, remove them from the hot water, and add to the sautéed onions. Add salt and pepper. The perogies will  flavor nicely, due to the onions cooked in the sausage fat. Fry them until they are crispy on the outside and browned. To make the salad, add the vinegar, salt, pepper, sugar, and oil in a small bowl, stir well and mix into the shredded cabbage. You may have to add more salt or sugar, depending on your preference. Serve warm, except for the salad, and add a tbsp of sour cream, for those in dire need of comfort food to the max kind of days.

“Interested in a Simple Spinach Salad?” Cried the spinach salad…

Spinach Salad with Goddess Dressing

Ingredients:
2 cups Spinach
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 green onion, chopped
1/8 cup orange, red, or yellow pepper, chopped
2 tbsp hemp hearts
small amount of shredded cheddar cheese (if I had feta, I would have used it, but I actually chopped up a cheese string)
2 tbsp toasted pecans
1 tbsp of Trader Joe’s Goddess dressing, or 1 tbsp of Olive Oil with 1 Tbsp of Balsamic vinegar (depending on my mood, I use either or).

How To Play:
Add the first 7 ingredients together in a bowl. Depending what dressing you are using, add to the salad and mix well with salad tongs.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

