Big Daddy’s Hot Beef On A Bun


So here is the way it is, when I was 11 I got sick.  Really sick.  I was not allowed to eat any wheat, sugar, meats, and had to be given about 5 German tinctures a day with a random chalky shake my mom would make faithfully every morning for me before school.  We were new to the country and had no idea what those tinctures were made up of, other than natural ingredients in hopes to correct my troubled digestion and rid my intestines of the “mushrooms” that were growing in it.  This was the beginning of my journey.  My journey of eating differently than the other 11 year old kids in my class as well as my family.  My mom would make two different dinners every night.  One for me and one for the rest of the family.  This has continued on into my married life.  No, mom is not still making me dinners, but I now make two meals.  One for me and one for the family, unless it is a meal we all enjoy eating, that is…Last night, I made a roast beef, well, I put everything out to prepare it, but Sean actually made it.  He grew up eating roast beef.  The kids and him love it.  I had leftover red quinoa salad.  Tonight, with the roast beef leftovers, we call it “The Big Daddy’s Hot Beef On A Bun.”  I remember my sister always ordering Beef dip when we were younger.  I actually don’t know if I have ever had it, but this is my version of it.  Sean and the kids get excited about it and perhaps it might be helpful to someone in need of an idea for roast beef leftovers.  I kind of feel like the leftover fairy.  I don’t like to throw food out and Sean doesn’t like leftovers, so I have to disguise these leftovers with the touch of a magic wand, more like the touch of a skillet and a few dashes of salt, but either way, I have to make it work.  As my Papa would always say, “Waste not want not.” What am I going to eat?  Hummus with raw veggies, such as carrots and peppers, then have my favourite snack afterwards, popcorn.

Big Daddy’s Hot Beef On A Bun

Ingredients:

3 cups of cooked roast beef, pulled apart in pieces

1/2 yellow onion, sliced thinly

salt and pepper

1/2 cup gravy from the roast beef dinner

2 cups arugula

4 whole wheat buns

How To Play:

Heat a skillet with about 1/4 cup of water and begin to sauté the sliced onion.  Once the onion has softened, add the roast beef and shake some salt and pepper on it.  Add 1/2 cup gravy and let simmer with the lid on until it’s nicely heated through and HOT.  Prepare bun by placing arugula in it.  Add the hot beef straight from the skillet.  Serve with raw vegetables.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

