Chocolate Zucchini Cake with White Lie Frosting.

I haven’t really been too consistent with my weigh ins.  I weigh myself on Fridays, but this morning I decided to do it today instead.  I was down 3 pounds last Friday and today I am 192. I have 26 more pounds to go! Today was a playdate birthday bash for child 1.  It was chaotic fun.  I was talking to my mom last night, while making the chocolate zucchini cake,  about the time she had told me on my 16th birthday she had made my favorite cake, Chocolate zucchini cake.  I remember thinking then at that moment, “This is my favorite cake? I don’t remember ever eating this before.”  She laughed and told me she thought the recipe sounded good so had just told me that.  Well, now I know.  It wasn’t a childhood favorite of mine after all, just a little white lie to get me to eat it.  Now I am making it and telling 1 it is her favorite cake. Yikes.  Either way, the cake is yum, but I have to be disciplined.  I want to keep this weight-a-going down-a going down!

Chocolate Zucchini Cake with White Lie Frosting…

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1/4 cup melted butter

3/4 cup grapeseed oil

3 free range eggs

1tsp pure vanilla

1/2 cup buttermilk (I use 2%milk with 1/2tsp vinegar)

2.5 cups grated zucchini

1.5 cups chocolate chips

2 cups unbleached flour

1 cup cocoa, sifted

1/2tsp salt

2tsp aluminum free baking soda

1tsp allspice (I use Masala)

1 1/2tsp cinnamon

WHITE LIE FROSTING:

1 Package Philadelphia Cream cheese

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup white chocolate

1tsp pure vanilla

3 cups icing sugar, sifted

How to Play:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9×13 baking pan.  In a medium bowl mix together the sugar, butter, and oil.  Beat in eggs, one at a time until well incorporated.  Stir in vanilla, buttermilk, zucchini and chocolate chips.  In a separate bowl mix together all the dry ingredients.  Add the liquid ingredients and mix until well combined.  Spoon batter into greased pan.  Bake in the center of the oven for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. 

For the icing, beat the cream cheese on high until smooth and fluffy.  Lightly blend in vanilla and butter.  Melt white chocolate over a double boiler and add warm melted chocolate to the cream cheese mixture.  Scrape down sides of the bowl to incorporate all.  Mix on high again until smooth and fluffy.  Slowly add icing sugar, scraping down the sides of the bowl occasionally and beat on high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Now, these make for really nice cupcakes, which are great for a homegroup setting or birthday party.  Also, sometimes sprinkled with crushed espresso beans is a nice touch.

Enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Cake with White Lie Frosting.

Leave a Reply

