Fake Valentine’s Pumpkin Loaf

So, I have just brushed my teeth, it is my controlled way of saying to myself, “No more food, big guy.”  Spin class was as usual intense, but rewarding.  Being that it is Valentine’s tomorrow, instructor L. gave us treats at the end of class.  They were seriously so good, that I am going to make the “Spin Class Specials” this weekend and post them.  My kids 1,2, and 3, think it is Valentine’s today, so I am not going to worry about sweets for tomorrow.
My fake Valentine’s baked good today is this…a Pumpkin Loaf inspired by one of the most unique and hip blogs I know, Post Punk Kitchen.  I am going to share with you this spectactuar recipe, however, I have changed just a couple of things for personal reasons.

Fake Valentine’s Pumpkin Loaf

1/4 cup applesauce
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup + 2 tablespoons boiling water, divided (see note)
1 cup pumpkin puree
3/4 cup sucanut
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all purpose spelt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup walnuts, chopped

How to Play:

Preheat oven to 350 F and lightly grease and flour an 8 inch loaf pan. Also, boil some water in a tea kettle.

Put applesauce, coconut oil and cocoa powder in a mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, spices, baking soda and salt.

Measure out 1/3 cup boiling water and pour into the bowl with the chocolate mixture, mixing quickly to make a smooth chocolate sauce. Add pumpkin, sucanut and vanilla and mix well.

Pour half of the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture and gently stir just to incorporate, then measure out 1 tablespoon of boiling water and stir again. Now add the rest of the flour mixture and another tablespoon of boiling water and stir just until smooth. Take care not to overmix. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into the prepared loaf pan.  Sprinkle the top with sugar and chopped walnuts.

Bake for 55 minutes to an hour.  It is yummy both warm and cool.  I like to serve it with coconut oil and I just can’t get enough.  This is one of my kids most favorite treats too, and they love coconut oil as well.

Enjoy.

One thought on “Fake Valentine’s Pumpkin Loaf

Leave a Reply

