Chicken Teriyaki and Steamed Baby Bok Choy with Gomashio

Last night I was a party mama, however at the end of the evening I looked like a partied out grandma.  My two girlfriends and I ventured out to the city to visit my sister.  She had been living in my basement for the last 10 months with her cat in the Valley, but the commute to work was killing her.  We thought it would be fun to go see her new place in Kits and go out for dinner.  I really wanted to go to spin class, so we decided to leave later in the evening.  We didn’t arrive until after 8pm and after a small time of chit chat, we agreed to go to the Eatery for dinner.  So, if you have never been, it has amazing sushi and the fanciest rolls.  The decor kind of frightened me, especially the sticky table and the crushed pack of cigarrettes I had to flick off my chair, but other than the intensely loud music and the scarey paper mache unicorn hanging from the ceiling, the food was absolutely awesome.  By the end of the night we all said our good byes with ringing in our ears and our make-up all smudged from our ever shrinking eyes, and laughed at the fact that we obviously aren’t capable of staying up past 10pm.  I didn’t get home until after 1am.  I fed 3 and then fell into a deep sleep only to be awoken by 2 needing to go pee at 5:30am.  This day has been tiring.  A good day, but I feel like I pulled an all nighter.  A quick dinner though to breeze through with bagged eyes though is this.  Chicken Teriyaki and Bok Choy sprinkled with Gomashio.  I’m not a huge rice fan, unless it is in sushi, but you can have rice on the side if you like.  A yummy rice is Trader Joe’s Rice Medley.

Teriyaki Chicken and Bok Choy sprinkled with Gomashio

2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breast

3 cups Baby Bok Choy

2 tsp Gomashio

 

For the Teriyaki Marinade:

 

1 tbsp fresh chopped ginger root

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup of soy sauce

3 tbsp of brown sugar

1.5 tbsp of sherry

1/4 cup of grapeseed oil (or preferred oil)

 

For Gomashio (Inspired by The Kind Diet):

1 Tsp of  fine Sea Salt

6 Tbsp of Sesame seeds

How To Play:

Mix all marinade ingredients in a small bowl, stir well, pour over 2-3 uncooked boneless, skinless, chicken breast.  Cover and refrigerate.  Marinate chicken for at least 2 hours or if you are incredibly organized, have it already marinated from the night before and ready to go…  Once you are ready to begin cooking, pour the marinaded chicken with all the juices in a medium skillet and cook until the chicken is no longer pink (I typically cut up the chicken at this time in the skillet, because I don’t like touching raw chicken).  At the same time, begin cooking the rice according to its package.  Once the chicken is done,  cover it with a lid and keep on a low temperature.  Steam the bok choy to your preferred like.   I prefer crisp bok choy, not overcooked, so I steam it without a lid for about 6 minutes and test it with  fork.

Sprinkle with Gomashio.

To Make Gomashio:

Heat the tsp of sea salt in a small dry skillet over medium heat.  Stir until the salt becomes really dry and slightly brown.  Pour the roasted salt into a mortar and pestle and grind to a fine powder.  Rinse 6 tbsp of sesame seeds in a fine mesh strainer. Place the seeds in the same dry skillet, and toast over medium heat until the seeds have a nutty aroma, puff up a little, and crush easily between your fingers.  Add sesame seeds to the portar and  and grind until the seeds are 80% crushed.  Transfer the gomashio to a glass jar with a tight lid, and store at room temperature for no longer than 2 weeks.

Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Chicken Teriyaki and Steamed Baby Bok Choy with Gomashio

  1. You amaze me. A quick dinner to breeze through for is grilled cheese and tomato soup. I’ve never heard of gomashio…but it sounds amazing 🙂 Cheers party mama 🙂

  2. Yes…we were a bit pathetic…me head bobbing on the way home trying not to snore and you with blurry eyes navigating us home. I still feel like I’m recovering. I will make this recipe this week..thanks for being my constant source of food ideas….it’s nice to have them written out here so I don’t have to call you every 2 min…well…I’m sure there’s many other things I can call you about every 2 min…

Leave a Reply

