My Happy Meal

I had no intentions on writing tonight, for it has been an extremely draining day.  I had planned to finish a book I have been reading, but I cannot find it anywhere.  I was reading before 4pm and somewhere between 4 and 6 it has disappeared.  I looked in every place possible, including the pantry and the fridge. Like I said, it has been a draining day.  I rode in an ambulance for the first time in my life this morning.  3 had put something in his mouth and began to gag then scream.  The gagging and choking scared me, so I phoned 911 for help and prayed.  They attendants were amazing and Lizzie, too, for taking 1 and 2 to her house, but it was the 5 hour wait in emergency that aged me by a couple of decades.  So, since my book is missing and my baby is sleeping in the room next to me, I thought I would share a refreshing meal for a drainer day.  I made this in a blur this evening, but the taste nonetheless brought life to my taste-buds.  I am sure everyone, besides McDonald’s has a happy meal they can go to or make, well, this is mine.  I could eat red radish tabbouleh everyday, especially this one.

Red Radish Tabbouleh and Goddess Delight Chicken Thighs


(Tabbouleh, Inspired by the Kind Diet)
Ingredients:
8-10 Chicken Thighs
1 1/2 cups Trader Joe’s Goddess Dressing (or any marinade)
1/4 tsp fine sea salt
1 cup bulgur wheat
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
2 scallions, white and green parts minced
1/2 cup thinly sliced radishes

How To Play:
Turn oven up to 350 degrees. Place chicken in a casserole dish. Pour dressing over top. Cover and cook for 45-50 minutes. Once the chicken is cooked, uncover and  let the chicken brown a tiny bit more for about 5-10 minutes.. While the chicken is cooking, bring 1 1/2 cups of water and the salt to a boil in a saucepan. Place the bulgur wheat and boiling salted water in a heatproof bowl. Stir once, then cover the bowl with a plate and set aside until the grain has absorbed all the water, about 20-30 minutes. Stir in the lemon juice, oil, parsley, scallions, and radishes and mix well. Add more lemon juice and salt to taste.

Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “My Happy Meal

  1. Hopefully a good night’s sleep will get you those 2 decades back. Actually, I’m sure it will. I hope 3 is fine and in good health.

    Saying everyone besides McDonald’s has a happy meal brought a smile to my face :)

    The food looks yummy too.

    • gingertree, I am so glad 3 is doing good, too. That whole event was very upsetting to me. You know what, 2 likes me to sing songs about characters from shrek and one of his favorite’s is gingi…I always think of you because you loved the part where he says, “Not my gum drop buttons…” I always incorporate that into the my song.

Leave a Reply

